The Old Paludians
Slough Secondary School opened its doors in January 1912. By 1915 a number of masters and senior pupils were serving their country in the Great War (1914-18) and others were reaching school-leaving age to take their place in society. It was suggested that an old pupils (and teachers) association be formed.
Following a suggestion from the first headmaster, Mr W. Francis Smith, the Association was named The Old Paludians (from the Latin palus, paludis – a slough) and thus it has remained for over 100 years.
The Association exists to foster a spirit of community between the former members of the school, both students and staff, and holds an annual reunion for former members as well as regular smaller meetings and a newsletter.
As a result of the generosity of Old Paludians, the Association sponsors awards of equipment, books or funding towards special projects for the school.
Members of the Association bring a wide range of experience and expertise which is an invaluable resource for the school and both current and former students.
Please note this site is currently in the process of being constructed. All terms, conditions and policies asserted in the previous mail Old Paludians site (here) : http://oldpaludians.wikispaces.com are incorporated into this site and to the fullest extent possible use of this site is in accordance with any rules, conditions or policies set out within http://oldpaludians.wikispaces.com.